Alternative certification can help more people become teachers | EdSource

By Shia Smith

For a long time I did not know exactly what job I wanted, but I knew I had a passion for helping the voiceless.

I worked as a faculty research assistant for the Oregon Water Resources Research Center, led professional workshops for Dell Computer Corporation, became a mentor for young people through the the Austin Writers’ League’s writing and poetry workshops and was a part‐time teaching artist with the Theatre Action Project.

I finally settled on being a creative writer at Compass Learning, where I worked with a team of teachers, subject-matter experts and programmers to produce innovative educational software designed to support challenged learners in the area of mathematics.

via Alternative certification can help more people become teachers | EdSource.

Comments are closed.