Summer school programs still needed – Daily Republic

By Mayrene Bates

My children were fortunate enough when they were in school to attend summer school programs.

My oldest son recalls that he really started to understand and like mathematics when he took math classes for two straight summers at Fairfield High School. Today, he is an IT administrator and can run circles around me in math and technology. To think, it all started when he decided – on his own – that he might be able to make better grades in math if he attended summer school.

Growing up in rural Tennessee, there was no summer school, no Girl Scouts organizations or public libraries open to me. So, every year when September rolled around, I was ecstatic and could hardly wait for school to begin, even if I had to ride a shirt factory worker’s bus 32 miles round trip every day – though there was a high school much closer to my home.

Source: Summer school programs still needed

Comments are closed.