Vallejo school superintend defends calls on outage, bad air days – Times-Herald

By Richard Freedman

When Dr. Adam Clark decided it was best to open Vallejo schools Monday despite a power outage, close them later in the day because of poor air quality, and keep schools closed all Tuesday because of the air, he didn’t consult a psychic, do rock-paper-scissors with a third grader or base his decision by arm-wrestling a middle school parent.

Or, as Clark said, “I’m not making this stuff up. I didn’t flip a coin.”

Shutting down a district with about 11,500 students “is one of the toughest decisions I have to make,” Clark said. “I don’t make it in isolation. I talk to my own ‘cabinet’ — folks at the sites. I ask the board if it has concerns. It really is a collaborative effort. There really is a thought process.”

Clark sat for an hour chat at his district office on Mare Island early Wednesday afternoon, explaining the decisions in reacting to air quality from area fires to the apparent new reality of PG&E power outages.

Source: Vallejo school superintend defends calls on outage, bad air days – Times-Herald

Comments are closed.