Daily Republic Column: Mayrene Bates – Books, reading important in Solano County

My second outing after my surgery was to attend the 12th annual Solano County Library Foundation Authors Luncheon. My doctor wanted to know how far I needed to travel. “It’s practically in my backyard,” I told him. Whether he gave me permission or not, I was bound and determined not to miss this wonderful annual event.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t commend executive director Dilenna Harris, her board of directors and a cast of volunteers that keep finding such good writers year after year. We hear so much about our society being a nation of nonreaders, but thank goodness, the library foundation doesn’t adhere to that premise. And the good citizens of Solano County continue to attend, purchase and read books. In addition, the foundation also continues to invest in great programs that promote literacy for children and families throughout Solano County.

via Books, reading important in Solano County.

Comments are closed.