Common Core is a common mistake – Daily Republic Letter

Harry Short

Vacaville

This is in response to Sue Kinder’s column, June 23, “Bass misses boat on Common Core.”

During my 80 years on this Earth, I have had more than 30 jobs; mainly in the medical, surgical and health care fields. Never, ever, have I been asked during an interview for employment whether I had a background in algebra, geometry nor trigonometry or calculus. Also, I have never had employment which required this kind of study. Not all of us are planning our careers in Silicon Valley, MIT or Jet Propulsion Labs. I feel that stuffing our kids’ brains full of this kind of esoteric mumbo-jumbo is tantamount to stuffing grain down the throats of geese so that their liver tastes better.

Common Core is a common mistake Daily Republic.

Comments are closed.