Title I Acadamic Achievement Schools Named – Year 2014 (CA Dept of Education)

SACRAMENTO—State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson today announced that 106 public schools will be receiving the 2013-14 Title I Academic Achievement Award.

“I am proud of what these schools have accomplished under often challenging circumstances,” Torlakson said. “Their administrators and teachers are committed to giving their students every opportunity to gain the knowledge and skills that will help them in school and throughout their lives.”

The Title I Academic Achievement Award is given to schools receiving federal Title I funds as authorized by the Elementary and Secondary Education Act. Title I, the single largest federal educational program for K-12 public education, assists schools in meeting the educational needs of students living at or below the poverty line. Of the approximately 10,000 schools in California, more than 6,000 of them participate in the Title I program.

via Title I Acadamic Achievement Schools Named – Year 2014 (CA Dept of Education).

Comments are closed.