Back to School: Preparing for Day One | Edutopia

By Rebecca Alber

I’ve had first days in the classroom that were pure poetry and others that were pure… well, you know. There’s things out of our control that can make that first day a tough one for sure. But there’s also things we can do beforehand to set the stage for success.

As I reflect, those great first days were usually after a summer where I spent extra time setting up, designing bordering for student work displays, dusting each individual book in the classroom library, fine-tuning and perfecting those beginning lessons: the handouts, the pacing, and the mini-lessons.

And then there’s been a few times where I really, I mean really, dove headfirst into enjoying my summer, returning from an island or road trip just days before the start of the new school year.

via Back to School: Preparing for Day One | Edutopia.

Comments are closed.