How to Manage Cell Phones in the Classroom | Edutopia

By Ben Johnson

When I ask the students why they are so attached to their devices with the small (some arent so small) screens, I invariably get the response, “Its my life.”

I just dont get it and probably never will, but here is my attempt at understanding. After careful observation, I have determined that the cell phones are analogous to what happened when the Walkman first appeared on the scene for the older generation. A Walkman was a portable cassette player that sometimes came with a radio.

Students could conveniently take their music with them and also conveniently tune out any undesirable noise. Within this cocoon of music, students feel safe and protected. “I study better with my music” is a frequent response to “Please take the earbuds out.” It doesnt matter how much research you share about the brain not being able to focus on more than one thing at a time, as soon as you turn your back, the earbuds will be back in.

via How to Manage Cell Phones in the Classroom | Edutopia.

Comments are closed.