Vanden High School Top Students: 2017 – Daily Republic

By Susan Hiland

Ashley Young – Valedictorian

Highlights: Community service through my church and the National Honor Society, of which I was both an activities chair and a historian. The music program, captain of the Color Guard and Winter Guard teams during my senior year. I attended both the Rotary Youth Leadership Award Conference and the California Leadership Academy. Scholarships, awards: Valedictorian; Rotary Scholarship for Arts, Athletics; a Sandy Montana Memorial Scholarship (provided by the California Color Guard Circuit); Fairfield Community Services Foundation Scholarship; grant money to attend UCLA. Plans next year: Attend the University of California, Los Angeles, and double major in Political Science and Global Studies. Career goals: Hope to work as a diplomat in the Foreign Service, but am also interested in roles concerning foreign relations within the United Nations and the Central Intelligence Agency. In 10 years: I would like to be experiencing the vast intricacies and perspectives of the world, either by continuing my pursuit of higher education, immersing myself in an effort such as the Peace Corps, or living out an ambitious career in global affairs.

Source: Vanden High School Top Students: 2017

Comments are closed.