Longtime coach Ann Talamantes-Ristow headed to Vallejo Sports Hall of Fame – Times-Herald

By Thomas Gase

After a successful high school career playing basketball at Petaluma High, Ann Talamantes-Ristow was at a crossroads when she got hurt in 1986 with a knee injury during her first season at Santa Rosa Junior College.

“Yeah I’ve been thinking about that period of my life, that fork in the road a little,” Talamantes-Ristow said last week. “When I hurt my knee I thought, that’s it for me and basketball.”

Thankfully for thousands of student athletes in the area, Talamantes-Ristow turned a bad break into a very good one and after contemplating briefly about becoming an athletic trainer, she decided to become a coach. It’s in that field she made a huge impact coaching basketball, badminton, volleyball and softball at Hogan and Jesse Bethel high schools as well as Solano Community College.

Source: Longtime coach Ann Talamantes-Ristow headed to Vallejo Sports Hall of Fame – Times-Herald

Comments are closed.