Home, school key to student success – Daily Republic

By Mayrene Bates

Parents, for the most part, will forever remain the most important role models that we will ever have.

Though my mother only went to school through the eighth grade and never visited my schools that I recall, she placed a great deal of emphasis on the responsibility for learning on the part of my siblings and me. She also provided us with a strong moral code, and we knew her stance on right and wrong.

Researchers remind us that some students will take advantage of every opportunity offered to learn, achieve and succeed, while others will view school as drudgery. I recently ran across an old International Education Achievement survey report that said, “The variations in test scores is due to the home background – not just the classroom experience.”

via Home, school key to student success.

Comments are closed.